I fucking made it

After months of amateur blogging, diligently at first and now sporadically, I feel compelled to let you know – I fucking made it.  I will no longer consider myself an amateur blogger, because I now have haters.  Well, hater actually.  Which means I’ve gone pro.

Photo credit: WeKnowMemes

Photo credit: WeKnowMemes

My new friend Michael actually posted June 14th, but because I was an amateur blogger at that time, I wasn’t checking for comments everyday.  Now that things are getting spicy I’ll make sure to check back more often.  Michael was compelled to write me after reading my post on Cal Newport.

The gentleman that launched me into professional blogger status

The gentleman that launched me into professional blogger status

In case that’s hard to read, my friend Michael replied,

What a way to put a damper on things be side [sic] your life sucks.  His books are awesome but you are too stupid to understand anything, everything you’ve said Cal has explained in the book or on his website which has helped thousands of students such as myself, so read and think before you belittle someone else because your career sucks, you sound like a pathetic jealous old cow

Michael, I appreciate the time you took to write me, and I may have been a bit quick in my response.  Hopefully I can clarify a few things, if you’re out there.

  • I’m terribly sorry that one of my eighteen blog posts “put a damper on things”.  I was unaware I wielded such influence over a perfect stranger.
  • My life may suck – I suppose the only way for me to deal with that is to blog more.  It’s not healthy to keep a sucky life bottled up.
  • “His books are awesome but you are too stupid to understand anything, everything you’ve said … which has… so read… because… you sound…”  One thing I do understand, Michael, is what a run-on sentence is.
  • “So read and think before you belittle […] pathetic jealous old cow” LOL wut? Another thing I understand, Michael, is what hypocrisy is.
  • “You sound like a pathetic jealous old cow” – what a wealth of information.  Let’s take this in steps.  Pathetic? Meh, maybe.  What would we call trolling other people’s blogs and leaving messages telling them how their lives suck?
  • “You sound like a pathetic jealous old cow” – Jealous?  Maybe of Michael’s bursting love for Cal Newport – down boy! Down!
  • “You sound like a pathetic jealous old cow” – I’m 26, I’ve got at least another 10 years before I need to freeze my eggs.
  • “You sound like a pathetic jealous old cow” – Cow? I imagine this was a cheap shot designed to attack common insecurities surrounding attractiveness and weight?  There is a picture of me in the About section, have you seen it?  Perhaps you’d like to send me a picture of yours so that I can find your fauna doppelganger?

God bless you, Michael.  You kids keep me young.

Leave a Reply

