Baby’s first post

A few days ago I was having coffee with my friends Ted and Beth.  Ted has a mouth that would make a sailor blush, and Beth and I’d had enough.  Don’t get me wrong, I like a good F bomb as much as the next lady.  It’s not that I’m offended by his constant swearing, it’s just that his repetition of the same five words is annoying.  To prove how obnoxious he was getting, we wagered an all-you-can-eat-all-you-can-drink Sunday brunch that he couldn’t last one week without swearing. No fucking chance that shithead is going to pull it off.

My coffee came in a paper cup and looked nothing like this.

 

I wanted a shot at the all-you-can^2 brunch action, so I said I’d give up my worst habit as well.  I didn’t have to think too hard, I knew what it was, and Ted and Beth quickly agreed (too quickly).  My worst habit? Complaining about my job.  Yup. Embarrassing.  It’s bad enough I’m an accountant – the fact that my naughtiest vice is complaining makes me wonder why I couldn’t have just developed a coke habit.  You know, like a normal person.  Anyway, Beth’s competing too – she’s supposed to work out every morning and pack her lunch every day (she got off easy).

The competition starts Sunday, and I want that brunch.  Want it bad.  Also I guess I should come up with a more productive way to express my feelings than constantly complaining to friends and family about being stuck in career limbo…  So here I am, ready to poison your minds with my complaints instead!  And maybe it’ll help other people at the beginning of their careers who feel lke they don’t know what to do and generally dislike their job but don’t know how to find a better one and stuff.  Maybe take on a life of its own.  Those who can’t do, blog?

2 thoughts on “Baby’s first post

Leave a Reply

